Booksurge

Anyone out there know anything about Booksurge? It’s a self-publishing group and they want my current book and my next book. I may use Outskirts Press again, but I’m tempted to sit back and let a publisher like Kensington Books publish my next book. That way, the advertising and book placement will be done by them.

The next book is a humor / historical non-fiction / fiction, if there is such a thing, so if there is anyone out there, please recommend a publisher or agent.

2 Responses to “Booksurge”

  1. TImothy Fish Says:

    I have used Booksurge to publish a book titled Church Website Design (ISBN: 1419659715). It is available on Amazon.com. Using Booksurge rather than some other means started out as an experiment and so far I have been pleased with the results. I went the cheap route with the Author’s Express B&W package for $99. Basically, I did everything myself, except print the book, but that is the way I like it. My impression is that the other packages are reasonable, given that the author is paying the publication costs instead of a publisher. Traditional publishers have to pay these costs, which could be something like $20,000 per book in their case, and have to rely on the successful books to make up for the losses. When you go though Booksurge, you may lose money on a book that doesn’t sell well, but it won’t be near as much what a traditional publisher would lose if it published the same book.

    I am currently working on a novel that will be called “Searching For Mom.” I may use Booksurge for it as well.

  2. writerbeware08 Says:

    ARE YOU IN FOR A SURPRISE!!!! WHEN YOU GO TO BOOKSTORES IN AN ATTEMPT TO HAVE THEM RETAIL YOUR STORY, YOU WILL FIND THAT THEY “CANNOT GET YOUR BOOK FROM THEIR DISTRIBUTOR!” THIS IS DUE TO BOOKSURGE’S DISCOUNT POLICY TO WHOLESALERS. THEY ESSENTIALLY HAVE A MONOPOLY ON RETAILING YOUR BOOK. SORRY TO BE THE BEARER OF BAD NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

